Follow

Can I re-use cards left behind by customers?

From time to time, you may have a customer who spends the balance on their gift/loyalty card and leaves it behind.  Because Ackroo cards are re-loadable, you may wonder whether or not you can re-use these cards for other customers.

While the cards are re-loadable and re-usable as many times as you need, we are not able to clear the transaction history or a customers registered information off of the cards. In the event that there is a dispute from a customer or staff member about a balance or transaction in question, this is the only audit trail that can be referred to.

If you lookup a card in the online program console and it has never been registered to someone's name before, you can choose to re-use the card however, keep in mind that the 'new' customer will be able to view the previous transaction activity if they choose to register the card.

If a card is registered however, we cannot wipe the customer's information off the card, especially if they have fully registered (with a password) online.  In this case, we recommend that you deactivate the card avoid re-using.  (To deactivate cards, please refer to:  Deactivating Cards)

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments